It all comes out in the wash.

This morning, I woke up before my children, which happens very rarely in our house. Since I’m a night owl, I’m not a morning person, so our kids have become my alarm clock.

Each night, after we put them to bed, I have grand plans of going to bed earlier than usual in order to wake up earlier and greet the day with a cup of tea and some quiet time. Again, that almost never happens–I end up staying up late, catching up on a favorite show, then having a bowl of cereal and watching late night tv. Last night, Eli Manning was on David Letterman and we had to watch that!!

So when Flannery woke up, she was sad and needed to cuddle and I had no choice but to get back in our bed with her. Amos was also in a fog and needed some cuddle time. And as I was there with them, I realized that it was almost an hour later and that I had not gotten up or accomplished anything. As I plotted my move to get up and make breakfast, Flannery rested her head on my tummy and snuggled in, again.

All of a sudden, it hit me. It hit me that this time was limited and that soon, there would be another one, wanting cuddles (and more!) from me.  There would be less room for a toddler to cuddle and I am really unsure, even now, how it will all work out–if I will be able to love everyone with just two arms.

A while back, there was a blog post circulating on Facebook about the difference between chronos and kairos time and their place in our lives as moms and the kind of time we give our kids. This morning, as I realized that my kairos time was short, I snuggled Flannery even closer, because whether she was ready or not, she was going to be displaced as the “baby” in our family. It’s bittersweet to think of her turning 2 this week, but still needing to rest her head on my belly.

When I finally emerged from our cozy room, I remembered that there was laundry to be switched, but that would take too many steps at that point. When I made it to the kitchen, I remembered the rest of the groceries I never unpacked last night. I noticed the dishes on the counter and realized that it would have been helpful for me to get up early to tackle the clean dishes and make breakfast. It would have been good, yes, but my cuddle time was better. And that’s what this practical mommy has to remember.

(Linking up with Just Write.)

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

