Where I’m From…

We’ve taken yet another trip down south to stay with my family in my childhood home. Steph and Emily have done these rememberances of growing up in their respective spots, so I thought I would try one too!

I am from Meeks and Sheehan: a musician/carpenter and a midwife/homemaker. I am a big sister to four siblings: bossy, a babysitter, responsible.
I am from Stratocasters, Telecasters, Fenders and Gibsons; I am from hammers, nails and table saws.
I am from labor coaching, breastfeeding help and talking to pregnant ladies; I am from freshly-baked bread, concord grape jelly and homemade quilts and clothes.
I am from charismatics turned presbyterians turned anglicans and back again.
I am from Big East Fork: gravel roads, five acres, a red tin roof and a woodstove; wading in creeks, fishing in ponds and playing in the woods; fireflies, bullfrogs and honeysuckle in the summer.

I am from chiggars, ticks, wasps, snakes, snapping turtles and coyotes. I am from border collies, cats and kittens; horses, ponies, chickens and sheep.  I am from long bus rides, hillbilly schools and 4-H.
I am from perms, poofy bangs and tight-rolled jeans; flannel, bellbottoms and thrift store finds. I am from the ’90’s, popular and alternative.
I am from a singer, musician and music appreciator. I am from the irish, extroverted, and spontaneous dance-partiers. I am from football games, cool weather, front porches and bon fires.

I am from Yankees trying to pass as Southerners and everything in between. I am happily from the Meeksarosa.

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where I’m From…

  1. Sheila Waterman says:

    and i love all of you ♥ ~sheila

Leave a Reply

