The Partain Green Smoothie…it’s what’s for breakfast!

In January of this year, I took the Green Smoothie Challenge and failed, miserably. The goal was to try and detox by ingesting nothing but green smoothies & sensible dinners. Hopefully, one would have more energy and would lose a few pounds too. By day 3, I was a mess, tired, and mean. My blood sugar had bottomed out and I could not make it any longer!

So over the last six months, we have tried various forms of the green smoothie and recently, received a good recipe from our friend, Liz Janes.
I think what was missing from our Green Smoothies before was additional protein and carbs. I still want to eat those greens daily, but I also need something to help it stick with me and keep my blood sugar level. So we’ve adapted it to our liking and needs and I think, have finally found a winner.
Without further ado, The Partain Green Smoothie:
~1 cup of plain yogurt (preferably Greek, for maximum protein intake)
~2 generous cups of Kale greens
~1 cup of Beet greens
~1 banana
~1 cup of frozen strawberries, blueberries, mango, and/or pineapple
~1 cup of water
~1 raw farm fresh egg (optional but so wonderful. The egg adds additional  protein and I promise, gives me so much energy.)*
~a drizzle of honey (optional)

(Makes 4-5 cups)

Put them in the blender in that order so that the greens will be finely chopped. I know, it sounds a bit up tight, but I have tried to figure out the best order and this is it!

With adding so much fruit (I usually add at least banana, strawberry and mango), the taste is fruity and refreshing and there’s a hint of the greens in the texture but really, it’s not that bad. My kids drink some every morning now, and love it!

I put it in a special cup (yes, maybe also a little overly uptight, but it works!) that has a lid and straw and carry my drink around with me as I tackle the morning or run errands. It’s an amazing way to get so many good vitamins, nutrients and servings of fruit & vegetables.


Even as I write this post, I am tasting it, and am almost motivated enough to go make one! I can’t imagine mornings without it now and would be tempted to bring along my blender and all the necessary ingredients on a trip! I could be tempted to go on a raw diet, too, but that might get a bit tough. I still do love a good grilled steak!

Let me know if you try this and what you think. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!
*Consuming raw eggs is a controversial subject so one should do the research and decide for themselves what is best. We buy our eggs locally and know that the chickens are healthy and free range. To date, we have never gotten sick but that doesn’t mean that it can’t happen!

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Partain Green Smoothie…it’s what’s for breakfast!

  1. ande says:

    Mmmm, that looks mighty tasty:) Well if it makes you feel better that it makes me feel better that I’m not the only one to fail miserably at the green smoothie challenge;) I haven’t been “smoothing” much this pregnancy (probably though that’s when I could use it most) But I do need to get back into it. Maybe getting a cute new cup would help:) I’ll try your recipe when I do. My favorite is the “sailor man” from the vita mix book. I cup yogurt (I make mine @ home:) 2 cups spinach, 1 banana, 1/2 cup (or so) of pineapple, 1 apple and a cup of ice. So good! I could drink it everyday!

  2. I got a fancy cup with straw tonight at target. I’ll admit to having a hard time with the texture of the greens this morning, and I’m hoping the straw will help. Also, my smoothie was not as near as pretty as yours.

Leave a Reply

