No ingredients? No problem!

Last night, we had a delicious dinner at a new Indy Restaurant, Black Market.

I made the mistake of arriving in a ravenous state, so when Tim and Katy asked if we wanted to do “sharefest” with them, I hesitatingly agreed but reserved the right to order an extra burger.

For starters, our small plates were duck buns, beef tongue and pork belly. All three were so tasty and we were surpised by the way the flavors worked for each dish.
For entrees, we shared herb crusted lamb, dumplins and a burger. Again, they were all so good! All I had to do was taste a piece of the burger with the herbed goat cheese that was spread on it to know that I wanted one all to myself. Nathan got all of our half!
So what made the burger so good? Right off the bat, the goat cheese was perfect: creamy and full of subtle flavor. There were also carmelized red onions and some sort of pickled tomato that had just the right amount of flavor. On the side was some fresh and crispy arugula with a citrus-y vinaigrette dressing and a sort of potato salad that had sweet potatoes in it.

So tonight, with those flavors still rustling around in my memory, I asked Nathan if he would grill hamburgers to see if we could somewhat recreate the burger from last night. (I was ok with not totally recreating it, as it was a special night, with so many flavors and great company!).
So I went down the list:

herbed goat cheese (from Trader Joe’s).  Check.
Carmelized onions…no, but I could make some, I think.
Pickled tomatoes…no, but we did have tomatoes AND pickles, so we decided to try that out. (It ended up not working…the pickles were too strong.).
Arugula…no but after looking through the bag of mixed greens, I picked some out. Yes!
Citrus-y salad dressing…not exactly but a little mixing of Paul Newman’s Oil and Vinegar dressing with some orange juice worked like a charm!
Potato salad with sweet potatoes…um, no, and I had not even the slightest idea of how to make it! So sweet potato fries it was!

The end result was not as good as last night’s, and that was ok. But it was pretty darn good AND, I think that from now on, I’m going to have arugula accompany my burgers, instead of fries.
Bon appetit!

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No ingredients? No problem!

  1. Pingback: Pickled Green Tomatoes recipe

Leave a Reply

