The end of an era. (Or, goodbye Dr Pepper.)

If you know me well, you know that I use (and love) Lip Smacker’s Dr. Pepper chapstick, on a daily, if not hourly, basis.
In fact, it’s been my favorite lip balm since elementary school and while there was a lull in use during my early teen years, I re-discovered its yumminess in high school and have been a fan ever since.
The reason for my love is two-fold but simple: Dr. Pepper chapstick has it all. And, I have big lips.
First, it has it all: the best tint and right color/amount of tint, shimmer, glossiness, scent and taste. I can put it on in the blink of an eye, without a mirror. It doesn’t make my lips look bigger than they are and doesn’t dry them out.
Second, big lips: There’s a part in Disney’s “The Little Mermaid” where Sebastian the Lobster (or crab, whatever he may be) is teaching Ariel how to kiss and says, “You have to pucker up your lips, like this…” and when he says that, his lips get big, nice and exaggerrated and big. I always feel like my lips look like that part and even joke about it from time to time with my sisters. And the wrong lip product can make them look even bigger!

Everyone in my life has given me a hard time for using my beloved Dr Pepper chapstick, so much so, that when I whip out the extra large tube (and get the best lip massage known to humankind), people point and laugh.  But I know it’s me that’s getting the last laugh because the relief and afore-mentioned massage are so amazing and comforting that their gawking fades away.
Even my poor husband has come to despise the Dr. because of the taste is leaves behind. He hates to drink after me, especially if I’ve just applied a new coat of balminess.  But I don’t mind the taste at all, and have even grown fond of it.

So in an effort to get back to nature in the last few years, I have tried other lip products, hoping to find a replacement for my beloved “chapstick” since as my husband puts it, it isn’t chapstick, but lip gloss. (And he’s right…)
But because my lips are so big, lipsticks and even darkly tinted glosses can be awkward and/or drying and even the wrong shade can make my lips look gigantic. Too, if I have to use a mirror to apply the stuff, I immediately don’t like it because I’m just that lazy.
Years ago, when I tried for the first time to find a replacement, I purchased the Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer in Fig and had hoped against hope that this was the one. I was sadly disappointed when I applied the balm and not only was it minty (not a favorite of mine) but the color was too bright and yes, it made my lips look gigantic. It was also drying. Three strikes and it was out. And even though I held onto it, coming back to it from time to time, hoping it would redeem itself, it never has, and now, I only use it for really fancy occassions almost never.
The second hopeful replacement came in my stocking one Christmas, Burt’s Bees Super Shiny Natural Lip Gloss in Zesty Red. It smelled and tasted like oranges and/or grapefruits and while it was a worthy opponent, it needed to be applied with the help of a mirror and then didn’t last long on the lips after that. Two strikes but I do still use it from time to time, when I’m feeling almost fancy.

And there are others that I’ve tried, but to no avail.

SO…

Today, I was reading a magazine I bought as a guilty pleasure little treat, and in their beauty section, they recommended a new product that I had never seen before…

Lo and behold, there on the page was a picture of a new Burt’s Bees lip balm and yes, it’s tinted!!!

Could it be?! Had I found a new, and maybe, healthier, Dr. Pepper chapstick? I had to find out!

Tonight, while we were out and about, we stopped at Target and I ran in to check their cosmetics section. I didn’t know if it would be there, but it was.
There were five or six colors to choose from, so I quickly snatched the darkest, reddest shade and headed for the check out. I jumped in the car and shared with happiness that they had it. As I showed Nathan the super cool packaging (all cardboard) I quickly opened it and applied it to my dry, naked lips.

And it was awesome. The color was great, totally satisfactory. The balm was smooth, not too heavy and I even felt my lips start to get healthier, even in the first 30 seconds of wearing the stuff.
As we drove home, I sipped some water and even though the balm slowly wore off, the color stayed behind slightly and I promise you, my lips felt so soft and even a little bit conditioned! Wow!

So yeah, I think I’ve found it. A healthier and more natural way to have healthy and more natural-looking lips.

I’m excited to see how it goes!!

(I have not been compensated in any way for this review. I happily paid more than the usual amount charged for chapstick so I could see if it was really “the one.” Hopefully you’ve benefitted from my review and will walk run out to get your own. You won’t be sorry!)

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in April '11, Healthy Eating/Living, It's the little things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

