Musician by association.

Last night, Nathan and I got to sing with a husband and wife duo called the Welcome Wagon. We were asked by our friend Liz to be part of the choir that backed them up and with babysitting help from Katy and Emily, we were able to be part of a musical team again.

I am a singer and I have been, my whole life. And even though I’ve taken piano lessons and was in band class in school, I am a faker when it comes to knowing how to play bass, guitar or drums. Yeah, I can play them but I really don’t know what I’m doing!
My dad is a musician and my mom loves to sing too, so there was always good music happening in our home. My siblings all sing and I even got to be in a band with my brother Jesse.
Too, it’s great to be able to share a love of music with my husband.
Music is a huge part of my life and if you know me, you know that I love a good song, record and/or artist.

So I bring this up because singing the other night reminded me that I used to be more involved with music than I am today. I still do a fair amount of singing around the house and in the car, but these days, I mostly sing along to the Black Keys with our four year old son.
Before Amos was born, I sang on the worship team at church, which was really really wonderful. Nathan and I have been in a few bands together, People You Meet and Red Birds, which was also alot of fun.


And in college, I sang in a band called the Friendlies.


It was such a cool experience to share the stage with the Aiutos and their band, last night and it got me really inspired and excited to think about doing music again. Nathan and I are planning to play IMAF this year, which will be so much fun!
I loved being part of a band again, and being reminded of how much fun playing music really is.
It was great to be reminded of the energy that is on-stage when everyone is working together to make a beautiful and artistic composition. And afterward, it was cool to relive the songs and thank each other for doing their best.
It was great have shared that experience with them, even if it was only for one night.

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in April '11, Memories..., Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

