Detox complete, sort of.

Well I finished my detox last Friday. For four weeks straight, I had NO refined sugar (white sugar, raw sugar, white bread, potatoes, white rice, etc), NO coffee or black tea and NO alcohol. I did allow myself honey and green tea, sometimes together and lots of fruit.

The hardest part overall, was not drinking alcohol. I’m not a daily drinker, but I do enjoy good wine and beer and a cocktail every now and then. There were a few times that I had to turn down drinking with friends or family and that was tough.
And while it was tough to abstain from sugar, again mostly in a social setting, it was not as tough as I thought it would be, day to day.

I started and ended my detox with nights of indulging. At the beginning of January, we had the honor of being invited to a dinner party with dear friends and the focus was the Orin Swift cellars, some of our favorite wine.

My detox ended with a dinner at Brugge Brasserie
for our dear friend, Wolfy. It was decadent and delicious, and everything I had hoped it would be. I had their steak and eggs for dinner, as well as a Nutella crepe for dessert. I had two Porters that were so so good, too! I ate so much! and payed for it dearly with indigestion later that night. But it was so good!

So now that I’m not officially on a detox, I feel like I want to eat everything bad…lots of white carbs, pancakes, etc. And I miss that feeling of abstaining from something for a greater good. I think I will continue to stay away from sugar and caffeine as much as possible, because for me, they are no good. But I am thankful for the month of detox that I did have. I thought about many good things and it feels good to have finished something!

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in February '11, Healthy Eating/Living. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Detox complete, sort of.

  1. punkinmama says:

    Way to go! I can’t imagine how hard that would be!

  2. Pati says:

    you look marvelous!!!!!! how wonderful for our body and mind!!!!!! I am glad I saw this I don’t remember how i did that but i hope i can do it again!! love ya all XXXX

  3. Christina says:

    Good for you, Sarah! I’ve been trying so hard to give up sugar, but I just haven’t been able to do it. It’s encouraging reading that someone else has done it!

Leave a Reply

