That’s me, eating my words…

…and putting both feet in my mouth.

Oh and, my husband was right AND is a genius. There, I think that covers it.

A few years ago, (I actually have no idea exactly when it was), we were talking about getting Nathan a camera. This was before the iphone, so it must have been in 2006 or -07.
He was saying that he wanted to get a really nice SLR camera–the ones that are really expensive. 

(Nathan has a history of being the one of us that wants to buy the best, most expensive thing while I usually will settle for a cheaper item and be ok with its quality.)

So of course, I balked, majorly, at the thought of buying Nathan a really expensive camera, sort of “just because.” Not once did I realize that maybe I could occassionally use this fancy camera, too, and take beautiful pictures of our child. I knew people that had fancy cameras like that, but I wasn’t one of them…I didn’t need a high-falluten camera to take pictures. I could be satisfied with a point and shoot.

Nathan ended up getting an iPhone and thus, now has a camera with which to capture life. And I have a great point and shoot that worked just fine and dandy. Until yesterday…

We went to church for a little while for Nathan to get a few things done and while we were there, he showed me the new digital SLR camera he bought for the church…a Canon Rebel. He brought it out for me to test it out and instantly, I was hooked. And now, I am addicted to this camera! I used it in church this morning and loved it. It takes beautiful pictures of my beautiful children. And even though I keep saying, “We have got to get one of these!” over and over, I’ve only had to say “You were right.” once and Nathan has not reminded me of it since. He’s just that awesome.

So there it is.

(I took this not-so-clear picture of myself with my ipod touch with the hand I wasn’t using to hold the camera.)

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Gadgets, January '11 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That’s me, eating my words…

  1. Tricia F. says:

    Yay DSLRs! I heart my Nikon D80. My two favorite things about my camera are getting to take pictures indoors without a flash (thanks to my lens) and the ability to take pictures faster (kids are fast, as you know!).

    Glad you had fun. I got mine from Adorama.com in their refurbished section a year ago and have been happy with it. It knocked a bit off the price and was just like brand new.

  2. Sheila says:

    I love my Canon Rebel – I wish I’d bought it a few years earlier. 🙂

  3. piper says:

    DSLR’s are wonderful. I hope you have access to that one so you can use it, otherwise I would suggest saving for one. I am a Nikon girl, but Canon is great, too. Just make sure you get yourself a 50mm 1.8 lens with any camera you get. They are not that much money and will let you take some pics with no flash inside.

Leave a Reply

