Detox, Day 3.

What a day! For the first time in a long while, we were home all day. It was really nice. And while I had hoped to get more things done around here, I am happy that I got to cuddle with Flannery a bit and help Amos do various (and messy!) projects. I still got things done but it was a struggle to stay focused.

Today was the first day that I’ve missed coffee for somthing other than the caffeine. I think I miss the romance that surrounds coffee. Someone mentioned on Facebook how they were sitting at a Panera, with their husband, having a cup of coffee together and immediately, I missed it. I missed the thought of sitting and hanging out, sipping on a cup of joe. The funny thing is that I cannot remember the last time (aside from last week when I was on vacation) that I have sat down and had a leisurely cup of coffee. I never sit at the table and just sit. I’m usually chugging as I feed one or both children. I think if I go back to drinking coffee, I may get up early just to sit and sip a cup of decaf.

Today I realized that I feel really level. I feel so even keel and even when I was hungry, my blood sugar didn’t plummet. I haven’t felt this good since before getting pregnant with Flannery, over a year and a half ago. I think my thyroid is evening out too, which really helps.
I worked out today, but only for 40 minutes and not the full hour. It was either finish the workout or get a shower, since Flannery was due to wake up and want lunch. I chose the latter and don’t regret it. I’m pretty sore.
Tonight we had dessert for community group and I really wanted to eat the yummy looking cheese cake with raspberry compote. I didn’t really miss dessert until tonight. Our friend Jeremy makes such yummy desserts every week that they are my one treat!

Last night before bed, I read the first few chapters of Matthew. My One Year Bible was downstairs (still is!) so I read the Bible near my bed. I read about the lineage of Jesus, leading up to his birth, and found out that Amos, the prophet was in the list. I had no idea! That definitely makes Amos’ name more special! I also found it ironic that I was reading the Christmas story after Christmas. Still, it was moving and things stuck out to me like never before.

Tomorrow, my parents come for a few days and I am interested to see how that goes. I’ve bought some wine in honor of my mother’s few days’ of freedom. I hope to keep up my end of the deal, so we’ll see how it goes!

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating/Living, January '11 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Detox, Day 3.

  1. Beth says:

    Of the things I gave up when I got pregnant over a year ago coffee was definitely missed the most. I tried having little bits after baby was born but apparently she is sensitive to the small amount of caffeine that passes through breast milk so I’m STILL missing it. As much as I love coffee, it sure ain’t worth a full day of a non-sleeping, cranky baby.

    I will say that after trying many different brands of decaf (most of which never come close to the taste of fully leaded java), Starbucks definitely wins with their decaf house blend. Santa just left me some in my stocking and I think I may be splurging to get it from now on.

Leave a Reply

