Detox, Day 2.

Today was a good day, but not the best. I ate well for breakfast and dinner but “lunch” was something I can’t admit to in public…alright, let’s just say there was some tortilla chips and processed cheese involved! 🙂
Anyway, the day began with waking up at 7. What?! Apparently, my “alarm clocks” are stuck in the Central Time zone and Nathan had a headache and was up during the night. So when he asked at 7 if I wanted to exercise, I had to say no, as I had no time before getting out the door to school.
This afternoon, I realized that in addition to being that quick pick me up, coffee also gave me the ability to be motivated and focused, especially in the middle of the day. So I made the day’s second cup of green tea and enjoyed its warmth.
Around 3, Nathan came home and we did our workout. I haven’t done one like that in over a week and it kicked my booty! Afterward, I collapsed on the futon!
I’ve really wanted something sweet so tonight, I’m drinking a mug of warm milk and honey and it is proving to be sufficient.
Before bed, I’m hoping to read the One Year Bible, but have decided to go through the New Testament and Proverbs. I have to pair it down so I feel like I’m actually getting something out of what I’m reading!

The comments from yesterday’s post were great, reminding me to also detox heart and mind: be present with family, to read more and to create more structure for family and home life, all of which I’ve also considered. It’s easy to get excited over the hype of the new year, but I hope it continues past January!

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating/Living, January '11 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Detox, Day 2.

  1. Katy says:

    The sugar thing might have to continue past January, to really kick it (I say this, w/o knowing at all how much you may or may not be addicted to sugar!). Sugar is just really hard to get past. Personally, it took many months of using less of it before I just didn’t want it as much. And, really, the coffee thing is the very best place to start!

    But every week, every day matters. So keep it up — and remember each day is a new decision, no matter what you may have done the day before.

    Maybe next year, if you’re not pregnant w/ #3 (tee hee) then you and I can do a cleanse together. (Skipping the whole enema part…)

  2. Lora says:

    It’s so hard to continue things past January. Each year my “resolution” of sorts is to pick something to improve that won’t just stop when I get tired of keeping up with it!

    • Lora, That’s a good way to approach it…I think that these things are things I want to do more or less of through the year. Good to see you at church by the way! Sorry it was so short!!

Leave a Reply

