Why Sally?

In the fall of 1997, I met a my good friend, Anna, who was over from Scotland as an exchange student and had just started dating my brother. She quickly became a good friend and before I knew it, had given me a nickname: Sally.
It all started because we were giving nicknames that had the same letter as our first name. But Sally also happens to be the nickname for Sarah. Somwhere in my nicknack keepsakes is a keychain that Anna gave me that says “Sally: the pet name for Sarah.”  And when I did a Google search, many baby naming sites confirmed this.
Since then, people closest to me have called me Sally, off and on. And I love it because I love nicknames. Growing up, I gave nicknames to my siblings and close friends. My car even had names.

So who is Sally?

Well, she once was the lead singer of a band called the Friendlies, who had their heyday in the late 90’s in a TN college town. She was a radio dj, also in college, and loved being on the air. She was a lean and lanky bean pole that could wear just about any cute vintage piece of clothing she found…but didn’t know just how cute she really was. She dyed her hair blue and was a live-in nanny in NY. She preferred hanging out with dudes to chicks, and ended up marrying one of her best guy friends.


More recently, she’s been in other bands with her husband and has sung on the worship team, before kids. She shops at Old Navy and Goodwill now, but still tries to find cute stuff. She longs to be up to date on new music and movies but is a bit behind. She’s still the same person, just looks a bit different with a little extra weight and a baby on her hip. She loves her family and secretly wants to drive a minivan!

As mentioned before, this blog is kind of a way for me to find Sally again. Not sure what that entails or looks like, but I’m doing it publically, so hopefully you’ll make the journey with me!

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Why?. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Sally?

  1. Michaela says:

    I love it! I freely offer to help you find her, I see her here and there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

