Wordy Wednesday: Thankful.

This month puts us all in a thankful state of mind and I am finding that I am no different.
Last week, we went to TN to visit my family. My parents still live in the house where I grew up: a red-roofed inn (of sorts) on five acres and since we are deeply entrenched in city living, the country is a welcome respite. I always look forward to visiting, seeing my family, letting our kids run free and enjoying a slower pace of life.
When we arrived, my dad informed me that they were “out of water.” Ugh. This being “out of water” situation is somewhat common: the main water source at the house is a spring and while the water is amazing and delicious, it also runs out if we leave the hose on or take too many showers/do too much laundry and/or dishes. But this time, they ran out due to the drought that’s been happening. By the time we left on Sunday morning, the holding tank was beginning to fill up again, but it was happening slowly. Each day, we tried to figure out the best use for our precious little supply of water.
So here’s the thankful part: I was simply thankful for the modern conveniences that we enjoy. Those little conveniences are considered luxuries, as my sister (who lived in Africa for two years) pointed out. My response to her was, “Yes, but this is America!!!” And the more I thought about it, the more I began to see all of the good things, the many blessings that I have been given and how life right now is so sweet. Being out of water for a few days was difficult, especially with kids. But it was ok.

Other things I’m thankful for:
Stability: Over the past few weeks, there have been interactions and other things that have continued to remind me to be thankful for my husband, and the good man that he is. He loves me and our children well and works hard at his job, another thing I’m really thankful for.  We have a great house and I get to stay home. I actually feel God’s love for me through the care of Nathan and our church.

Community: I am thankful for the friends and relationships that are continuing to blossom and grow. I remember when we moved to Seattle, years ago, that it took awhile to feel at home there. Community and relationships, or the lack thereof, made all the difference and I’m so glad that I’m starting to feel more at home, here in Indy.

Health: My kids both have snotty noses and coughs right now. But, they are growing and thriving and we are under the care of a naturopath who is caring for our family in a way that is different and new, but hopeful. Amos is thriving in school and there are moments where I feel like Flannery is talking to me.

My family: My family has its own amount of disfunction and strife, BUT, I love my parents and siblings dearly. They are some of the closest people in my life and I love seeing them and being with them. Even though I’m still recovering from our trip, last week, I am thankful that I got to be with my family; that my kids got to be with their cousins and aunt, uncles and grandparents. It was a sweet time.

I hope to stay in a thankful frame of mind, past November. What are you thankful for?

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

