Happy birthday, Mom. I’m turning into you!

Last week, I realized again that I was turning into my mom and decided to finally count all of the ways.

The thing that got me thinking about it was my shoes. These shoes:

These shoes have served me well over the last year and a half. I got them for Mother’s Day, 2009, and wore them almost every day until today. Yes, I even wore them in the snow. They are so comfortable and got me through being hot, swollen and pregnant, and then some.
Growing up, my mom lived in Birkenstocks. In fact, she had a huge collection. She had a pair of Birks for every outfit, any kind of weather, and wore them, most every day that I can remember. I might be exaggerating, but probably not.
So when I realized that it had been almost a year and half of wearing the same pair of shoes, I remembered my mom’s collection of Birks and smiled to myself.
Here are some other ways I’m morphing into my mom:
–My mom, who is a labor coach and midwife, would always end up talking to the pregnant ladies at church or the ones with newborns. And yes, I’m totally drawn to pregnant women and/or women who have just given birth. I love birth stories! I love relating to them and hearing their stories! So just like my mom, I’ll be the one talking their ears off!
–I take my coffee 1/2 caff, 1/2 decaf. Why my mom does that, I don’t know. I do it because the caff cracks me out too much and I get all anxious and jittery.
–I love the color red. My mom loves the color red. She has a red roof, red kitchen stuff, red everything! I have a red car and other assorted red things, including red toenails.
(This is where my mom and I diverge: I always have toenails painted red because otherwise, my toes look too masculine. I know this because my mother never painted her toes and they definitely looked too masculine!)
–Which brings us to the fact that my mom was never a big primper. Maybe it was because she had five kids or lived in the country and never saw anyone, who knows?! I have three pieces of makeup in my bag and let my hair air dry because I would rather sleep than get up early to primp.
–My mom and I are emotional: when we laugh, we laugh. And when we cry, which is all of the time, we cry, like, ugly face cry.  And I even caught myself crying at the Folgers commercial the other day, just like my mom would!!!
My mom is a dancer. Once, when I was a teenager (of course), we were eating at Pizza Hut and someone played Elvis on the jukebox. Since Elvis is my mom’s absolute fav, she got up and danced, right there and then. I was mortified. But these days, I break out into spontaneous dancing most of the time. Things are always more fun if you dance!

I could go on and on. But I won’t. I love my mom and she’s an awesome woman. She is more patient and kind than me, has more energy and more motivation than I’ll ever have, and is so caring and sweet. I’m so glad she’s my mom!

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

