It’s been a lonnnnng time! (Thankful…)

Wow, so I’ve just logged into this blog for the first time in a few months. It’s been a busy time, this summer-fall-winter, with Amos in school full time and me being pregnant with our third (among other things).

Again, wow.

Thanksgiving came and went and this year, we traveled to be with my sister and her family on the big day. She’s a doula and was waiting on a client to have a baby so we went to them. We had a great day, cooking together, hanging out, listening to music, helping with each others’ kids.

It was funny though–we made our big dinner and then ate it in 20 minutes flat, and when we ended it was only 5:30pm. !!! What were we going to do with the rest of our day? The kids were acting crazy and we all just looked at each other, now realizing why we got to watch those holiday videos on special days like this. We made a quick decision to go see the new Muppet movie and after quickly getting the kiddos into PJ’s, we set out for the theater. It was a great way to end the day and the kids loved it.

Since Thanksgiving (and ironically, not before or necessarily ON the day), I have been thinking of all of our great blessings and have realized many of the things for which I am thankful:

I am thankful for ten great years of marriage to Nathan. It hasn’t always been easy and our first few years were very difficult, but now I look back and see the sweetness that has grown and am thankful to be able to live life with my best friend, every day.

I am thankful for our healthy children, both our healthy preemie that is growing big and strong, and our healthy full term-er, who is growing well, and who gets over sickness easily. I am thankful for our naturopath and friends who have helped us to care for our kids in non-conventional ways, that have long-term benefits.

I am thankful to be carrying a healthy baby boy and even though is different from who I thought it would be, I am excited to meet him and hope he continues to do well in my womb, at least until March!

***

And then I start to realize all of the things we have and how we always have exactly what we need, and sometimes more, and am blown away with those great blessings. We have a warm house, we have a working car, we have food every week and money to pay all of our bills. We have a great group of friends and church community of people that really love us and care for us in tangible and intangible ways. We have the luxury of buying fun presents for our family, this Christmas, not just practical things like shoes or clothes, etc. We have a father in heaven that loves us, beyond measure, that has lavished his grace on us and adopted us.

I feel like it’s important for me to stop and think about this, not just because it’s that time of year, but because it’s so easy to complain about things that are difficult or that we don’t like. I do, all the time. Hopefully, I can look at this list often and be reminded so that when I want to complain, I will be slower to do so.

Hopefully.

 

 

About sarah partain

Mama of two little ones, wife of one awesome one. Believer, daughter, sister, friend. Extrovert.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s been a lonnnnng time! (Thankful…)

Leave a Reply

